Meet Our Governors:

John Hobrough – Chair of Governors

Graeme Popay – Governor

I am deeply engaged in village and community life, serving as a Parish Councillor for several years. Additionally, I coordinate the activities and entertainment for the Warkworth Show and manage the administration of the Village Facebook page.

Gardening is a cherished hobby of mine, and I feel fortunate to have a burgage plot to tend to. However, my primary passion lies in Scouting. Having been a member since the age of 8, I’ve held various roles over the years. Notably, in 2022, I played a key role in establishing a new Scout Group in Alnmouth, offering Scouting opportunities to children as young as 4.

On a personal note, I am happily married to Ann, an exceptional early years teacher, and we are proud parents of four grown children.

Jonathan Booth – Headteacher

I am the headteacher of Warkworth CofE Primary School. I was born and raised in Kent, read History at the University of Cambridge, then completed postgraduate studies in Newcastle – the North East has been my home ever since.

Having completed teacher training through Teach First, I first worked in the west end of Newcastle, then became a Deputy Headteacher, before receiving the greatest professional honour of my life in being named headteacher of Warkworth.

I am the proud father of a wonderful daughter and am married to a highly-talented teacher. I am delighted to be part of the Heads Forward Network of headteachers and am passionate about schools supporting vulnerable families in every way they can.

Revd Helen O’Sullivan – Governor

Vicar of Acklington, Shilbottle and Warkworth since September 2019 previously serving in the Diocese of London, Portsmouth and Oxford.

Before ordination I managed Business Operations at Oxford University Press following tenyears in Mental Healthcare.

I absolutely love my weekly visits to the school and the way that the church and school work together within the wider community.

Sarah Fife – Staff Governor

Hilary Hamilton – Governor

Megan Forsyth – Governor

Dave Morrison – Governor

Claire Gelson – Parent Governor

Helen Robinson – Parent Governor

Governance Information

Please find Governor information, including meeting attendance records and register of business interests here:

As part of the NCEA Trust, you can find out more about our school’s overarching governance, including our Trustees and Committees on the NCEA Trust website.

Contact the Local Governing Body

The Chair of the Local Governing Body, may be contacted by email at or in writing:

Chair of Governors
c/o Warkworth Primary School
Guilden Road

NE65 0TJ

Alternatively, Governors may be contacted via Lesley Dalby, Director of Governance, on 01670 613318.